Bioshock late review (read it would you, kindly)

Image

I committed to play “Bioshock” just the other day, for the first time as well, because i was looking through my games and none of them really grabbed my attention to play them. Then I remembered that I had never played Bioshock even though it was released in 2007, so I finally decided to play it and interestingly enough it has held up incredibly well.

And what I mean by held up, is that it looks immaculately new for a game that has been around for 6 years (which I know isn’t a long time comparatively to other games). Graphically, it still looks quite superior to some relatively released games such like 3D Realm’s “Duke Nukem: Forever” and, the animation still hold up to some ‘next-gen’ games. Of course, the story line, casting/voice acting, setting and the atmosphere at the the awe that comes from the game.

Gameplay wise – it’s been a little bit ‘go here, go there’, but that’s only the start and I aim to see it through to the end.

As I’m trying to make all my reviews (future) as balanced as I can, I look for other people’s reviews and opinions (good and bad) on the game. Now, Vitachambers cause issues with some people but they’re a bit stupid when you realise you can turn them off, the issues that these caused were mainly to do with making the game easier while playing on the hardest difficulty. If they really wanted a difficult experience I could imagine that they’d know how to turn them off. The other thing that people found annoying is the graphically plastic style and the ‘unrealistic’ looking character models…honestly in my opinion, the engine they used (being Unreal Engine 3) has it’s own style of which I’m quite forgiving. And the complaint of the game being unrealistic is just squabbling to find something faulty in an exceedingly good game, the fact that it is set in a city, at the bottom of an ocean, that broke out in civil war and has enabled man kind to alter their DNA to be able to set people on fire, freeze, throw, control…you name it, frankly is a god damn terrifyingly good setting. Ignoring the fact it’s unrealistic, you get so engrossed into the game that the fact it’s is definitely unrealistic should just become irrelevant to the player. And don’t get me started on the soundtrack…it fits so well with the whole atmosphere, I’m rightly to say that I think It’s a masterpiece. 

I can see the bad points of the repetitive fighting and the ever so constant back tracking, but for the people that decided to play it and see it fully through and really enjoy it, but not grab at the game just from the little things and give it a whatever out of 10 on a money hugging review site.

Going beyond “run and gun corridors,” “monster-closet AIs” and static worlds, BioShock creates a living, unique and unpredictable FPS experience. 

– Metacritic metascore of 96

….Anyway, Bioshock = fantastic, unique, thrilling, terrifying, moving, confusing, amusing, compelling, and very very dark. So if you haven’t played it in the past 5 years, go out and find it or order off the internet, sit down (in your own time, of course) and play it. WOULD YOU, KINDLY.

Leave a Reply

